Skip Navigation

Distinguished Service Award

Description: The Distinguished Service Award recognizes a faculty member in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences who has demonstrated outstanding service and citizenship.

One award will be given in alternate years in each of the following categories:

  • Distinguished Service to the Department, School of Medicine, Emory community, and/or local Atlanta/Georgia community (even-numbered years)
  • Distinguished Service nationally and/or internationally in professional and/or civic organizations (odd-numbered years)

Eligibility: Part-time or full-time faculty at any rank within the Emory University Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences are eligible for the Distinguished Service Award. Faculty members who have received this award within the previous 5 years are ineligible.

Nominations: Nominees must be nominated by another full-time or part-time faculty member. A concise, < 1000 word narrative describing the outstanding service contributions made by the nominee should be included in the nomination. Additional letters (one page maximum per letter) are welcome. Nominations for the Distinguished Service to the Department, School of Medicine, Emory Community and/or local Atlanta/Georgia community should highlight the nominee’s service to trainees (selection, interviewing, and mentoring), administrative service to the department, development of new or innovative service programs, participation and leadership in School of Medicine or hospital/clinic-wide committees, participation and leadership in Emory University campus-wide endeavors, community service to colleagues or the general public, and/or community service to underserved populations. Nominations for the Distinguished Service nationally or internationally should focus on leadership roles in professional and/or civic organizations, which may include holding of offices on boards, editing journals, advocacy work, consultation, and/or program development and implementation.

Submissions: Submissions must be made electronically by e-mail and sent to Janice Dell at Submissions should include the nominating letter and name and contact information of the faculty member being nominated and additional letters of support, if applicable. Nominations will be accepted through midnight EDT July 1, 2012. Requests for further information should be directed to Nadine Kaslow, PhD, ABPP, Vice Chair for Faculty Development at

Decisions: Decisions will be made by a committee comprised of the Departmental Vice Chairs and members of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Faculty Development Committee. The Chair of the Department will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee and will have input without a vote. The voting will be done by paper ballot. Members of the committee will recuse themselves if they are nominated for a particular award. Award winners will be notified by August 31, 2012.

Award: The Distinguished Service Award recipient will be announced during a celebratory departmental event in the Fall.