Skip Navigation

Mentoring Award: Research

Description: The Mentoring Award recognizes a faculty member of the Emory University Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences who has served as an outstanding mentor to departmental faculty or trainees in the research domain.

Eligibility: Part-time or full-time faculty within the Emory University Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences who are currently serving as a formally recognized mentor to faculty or trainees are eligible to receive the Mentoring Award. Faculty members who have received this award within the previous 5 years are ineligible.


Nominations:  Mentors must be nominated by a current mentee or group of mentees. A concise, < 2000 word narrative describing the attributes that distinguish the nominee as a mentor should accompany the nomination. Additional letters (one page maximum per letter) from other current or previous mentees are encouraged. No more than 5 letters need to be provided.


Submissions: Submissions must be made electronically by e-mail and sent to Janice Dell at Submissions should include the nominating letter and name and contact information of the faculty member being nominated (Word or PDF) and additional letters of support from previous mentees, if applicable. Nominations will be accepted through midnight EDT August 8, 2016. Requests for further information should be directed to Nadine Kaslow, PhD, ABPP, Vice Chair for Faculty Development at


Decisions: Decisions will be made by a committee comprised of the Departmental Vice Chairs and members of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Faculty Development Committee. The Chair of the Department will serve as an ex-officio member of the committee and will have input without a vote. The voting will be done via email. Members of the committee will recuse themselves if they are nominated for a particular award. Award winners will be notified by August 31, 2016.

Award: The Mentoring Award recipient will be announced during a celebratory departmental event in the Fall.