Skip Navigation

December 2009

I want to take this opportunity to personally wish everyone an enjoyable holiday season.  Once again, I would like to share with you the accomplishments of our faculty.  

I want to express my gratitude to those individuals who have graciously agreed to serve with me on the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences Faculty Development Committee: Wendy Baer, Marietta Collins, Michael Compton, Marina Demetrashvili, Arden Dingle, Erica Duncan, Gene Farber, Christine Heim, Adriana Hermida, Mike Owens, Tad Pace, Tig Rainnie, Phyllis Rosen, Mar Sanchez, and Alicia Smith. If you would like to join the committee, please let me know. The committee asked me to remind folks that for the monthly kudos message that faculty are welcome to include accomplishments ranging from poster and paper presentations, to community and professional talks, to articles published, to grants awarded, to honors that range from local to international.  

Frank Brown was appointed as the Chair of the Finance and Budget Committee of the American Psychiatric Association. He also was appointed as the Chair of the DSM V Transaction Negotiating Committee (purchase by APA from APPI of DSM)

Marianne Celano and Christine Heim just joined Emory’s Institutional Review Board.  

Claire Coles (PI) and Julie Kable (Co-PI) received a grant from NIH/NIAAAA entitled GaFAR: AN intervention for affective and metacognitive control in fetal alcohol spectrum disorders.  

Michael Compton has been appointed by the American College of Preventive Medicine to serve on the Board of Governors of the American Journal of Preventive Medicine.

Ed Craighead, Joe Cubells, Erica Duncan, and Dominique Musselman were elected as members of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.  

Marina Demetrashvili, who in 2008 received from the American Psychiatric Association the Nancy C.A. Roeske Certificate of Excellence in Medical Student Education, was the 2009 recipient of the Emory Psychiatry Excellence in Teaching Award named by the PGY 1s.  

Arden Dingle has assumed the position of Chair of the Ethics Committee for the American Academy of Child and Adolescent Psychiatry. In addition, she now writes tests questions for the USMLE and is on the Step 2 committee.  

Gene Farber, Director of Mental Health at Grady’s Infectious Disease Program published two key papers on HIV-related psychotherapy: (1) Farber, E.W. (2009). Existentially informed HIV-related psychotherapy. Psychotherapy: Theory, Research, Practice, Training, 46, 336-349, and (2) Farber, E., Bhaju, J., Campos, PE., Hodari, K.E., Moley, V.J., Dennany, B.E., Yonker, M.E., & Sharma, S.M. (2009). Psychological well-being in persons receiving HIV-related mental health services: The role of personal meaning in a stress and coping model. General Hospital and Community Psychiatry.  

Andrew Furman was honored by Emory as a Distinguished Teaching Scholar and is the representative to this program during its inaugural year from the School of Medicine.  

Philip Harvey, so far in 2009, has had 31 papers published in print or on-line. He worked with the NIMH on the MATRICS-CT initiative that was completed on time and under budget. He identified an FDA endorsed co-primary outcomes measure for use in clinical treatment studies of people with schizophrenia. Further, the Atlanta VA is one of the sites for the newly study funded by the VA that will probe the genetic basis of schizophrenia and bipolar disorder and Dr. Harvey is the Clinical PI in Atlanta. This is the largest mental health grant ever funded by the VA. Dr. Harvey was promoted to fellow of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.  

Paul Holtzheimer was elected as an Associate Member of the American College of Neuropsychopharmacology.  

Nadine Kaslow became President of the American Board of Professional Psychology, which oversees the 13 specialty boards within psychology. The following members of our faculty are board certified in psychology: Ed Craighead (Cognitive and Behavioral), Susan Gantt (Group), Ann Hazzard (Clinical), Katherine Jones (Clinical), Nadine Kaslow (Clinical, Couple and Family), Barbara Rothbaum (Cognitive and Behavioral), and Carol Webb (Cognitive Behavioral). The following members of our volunteer faculty also are board certified in psychology: Bettie Banks (Clinical), Peter Mayfield (Clinical), John Paddock (Clinical), and Cal Vanderplate (Clinical).  

Barbara Rothbaum, Director of the Trauma and Recovery program, was invited to consult at Fort Hood following the tragic shootings. She also consults to the Pentagon on early intervention for military personnel in the US theater. She has been quoted frequently in the media related to such topics as vicarious traumatization and effective coping strategies.