Skip Navigation

February 2013


None reported


Major Leadership Appointments, Activities and Achievements

Frank Brown is now the 2nd Vice President of the American College of Psychiatrists. He will be President in four years.

Robert Cohen will assume the position as Chief of Geriatric Psychiatry effective March 1, 2013.

Kerry Ressler was promoted to the Rank of Professor with tenure in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences.


None reported


DeFife, J.A., Peart, J., Bradley, B., Ressler, K., Drill, R., & Westen, D. (2013). Validity of prototype diagnosis for mood and anxiety disorders. JAMA Psychiatry, 79, 140-148. Doi: 10.100/jamapsychiatry.2013.270

Felger, J. C., Cole, S. W., Pace, T. W. W., Hu, F., Woolwine, B. J., Doho, G. H., Raison, C. L., & Miller, A. H. (2012). Molecular signatures of peripheral blood mononuclear cells during chronic interferon-alpha treatment: Relationship with depression and fatigue. Psychological Medicine, 42, 1591-1603. doi: 10.1017/S0033291711002868

Felger, J. C., Li, L., Marvar, P. J., Woolwine, B. J., Harrison, D. G., Raison, C. L., & Miller, A. H. (in press). Tyrosine metabolism during interferon-alpha administration: Association with fatigue and CSF dopamine concentrations. Brain, Behavior, and Immunity. doi: 10.1016/j.bbi.2012.10.010

Felger, J. C., & Miller, A. H. (2012). Cytokine effects on the basal ganglia and dopamine function: The subcortical source of inflammatory malaise. Frontiers in Neuroendocrinology33, 315-327. DOI: 10.1016/j.yfrne.2012.09.003

Chanda Graves received an EMCF grant entitled “ The efficacy of a peer mentoring model for HIV positive youth”.

Barbara Rothbaum received a Distinguished Investigator Grant from the Brain & Behavior Research Foundation (formerly NARSAD, the National Alliance for Research on Schizophrenia and Depression) . She is one of among fifteen established investigators selected. The project focuses on identifying the optimal timing for early intervention aimed at preventing the development of PTSD. Kerry Ressler is also involved with the project.

Amit Shahane received an EMCF Grant entitled “A randomized controlled trial of cognitive behavior therapy for insomnia for persons living with HIV/AIDS.”

Honors, Awards, Rankings

Peter Ash, the current President of the Georgia Psychiatric Physician’s Association, was presented with the organization’s prestigious “Psychiatrist of the Year Award.”

Frank Brown won the Bowis Award for Distinguished Service to the American College of Psychiatry.

Quality and Safety Initiatives

The current quarters HBIPS bundled compliance (all metrics performed to get credit) is at 93.3%

Development Achievement and Capital Campaign Initiatives

None reported

Community Benefit Programs and Activities

Media –

Nadine Kaslow – (1) AJC – Real people: Grady Psychologist incorporates love of dance with healing; (2) Associated Press – Negotiators talking to Alabama captor through

Pipe, (3) Associated Press – Experts warn of long recovery for boy in bunker, (4) American Public Media: Marketplace Economy – The open house is back – and so are the ‘lookie loos’

Andy Miller – MedPage Today – Depression may lower response to vaccine

Michael Morrier – WXIA TV – The autism gap: What works

Jeff Rakofksy – WXIA TV– Top stress triggers

Ann Schwartz – WEB MD – Mom’s guide to family health: New York food and fitness

The first of three parts of Creative Loafing's series on the hospital is out and focuses on the hospital's turnaround since 2007 (also out in print)

Nadine Kaslow did a debriefing with the Public Defenders after the loss of one of their attorneys to suicide.

Jeff Rakofksy gave a lecture to the Transportation Security Administration about suicide prevention in the workplace.


Arshya Vahabzadeh has been named the recipient of the American Medical Association Foundation’s 2013 Leadership Award

John Douglas co-presented at an MD Showcase at Grady on Classic and Emerging Drugs of Abuse. This also will be published in the AAAP News.

Fani, N., Gutman, D., Tone, E.B., Almli, L., Mercer, K.B., Davis, J., Glover, E., Jovanovic, T., Bradley, B., Dinov, I.D., Zamanyan, A., Toga, A.W., Binder, E.B., & Ressler, K.J. (2013). FKBP5 and attention bias for threat associations with hippocampal function and shape. JAMA Psychiatry.   DOI: 10.1001/2013.jamapsychiatry.210

Rachel Goldberg, Bo Houston, and Arshya Vahabzadeh were selected to represent the department in the American Psychiatric Association MindGames Competition.

Goldsmith, D., & Vahabzadeh, A. (2013). Minimizing metabolic risk. Current Psychiatry Online, 12. 4.

Dorian Lamis won the American Association of Suicidology Morton M Silverman Student Award. This award covers his travel and hotel costs for the conference and includes a $500 check.

Lamis, D. A., & Jahn, D. R. (2013). Parent-child conflict and suicide rumination in college students: The mediating roles of depressive symptoms and anxiety sensitivity. Journal of American College Health, 61, 106-113. Doi: 10.1080/07448481.2012.754758 

Kelly Scheinberg will be doing an Addiction Psychiatry Fellowship at Emory.

Wilson, P. B., Paul, P., Mehta, S., & Coffrey, D. B. (2013). Hypokalemia secondary to bupropion sustained release overdose. Journal of Child & Adolescent Psychopharmacology, 23, 57-60. doi: 10.1089/cap.2013.2313 


The following staff members have reached University milestones in “years of service/employment”.

Christine Kim                     5 years of service             Autism Center

Dietre May                         15 years of service           Dept Administration

Delmarsha Hanson             20 years of service           Tufts House

Rose Jordan                       20 years of service           Tufts House

Michele Siverson                 5 years of service             WW Fuqua Center